(310) 489-9016

Brian Lapin is a founding member of the Black Eyed Peas (BEP) and a partner in the composing team, Transcenders. Brian helped to define a groundbreaking sound and vision for the multi-platinum selling recording artists. By incorporating a live band into hip-hop before it was the accepted norm, the band’s raw sound and high-energy shows marked the arrival of a new alternative hip-hop style. In addition to touring with BEP, Brian worked as a producer, engineer, songwriter and live keyboardist for the band.


As part of Transcenders, Brian has developed an accomplished career as a film and television composer, scoring the hit series’ Gossip Girl (CW), Harry’s Law (NBC), Emily Owens M.D. (CW), Outsourced (NBC), and Joey (NBC). Over the past several years, Transcenders have composed music for films, including Our Family Wedding, Forgetting Sarah Marshall, Superbad, and 40 Year Old Virgin and most recently I Know That Voice. Additionally, they have been responsible for many television main title theme songs including 20/20 (ABC), Power Rangers (Disney), Gossip Girl (CW), Harry’s Law (NBC) and Miramax Film’s opening theme.

Brian began his music career in his teens working under legendary producer/engineer Don Smith (Rolling Stones, Tom Petty). He is a graduate of Loyola Marymount University’s Recording Arts Program and spent three years as a songwriter with Warner/ Chappell Music Publishing.  Brian is three-time recipient of ACSAP’s Composer Award for Gossip Girl, one of the Highest Rated Television Series in 2008 & 2009 and Harry’s Law 2011. He currently resides in Marina Del Rey, California with his wife Rosalind and their two dogs Jazz and Orbision.


I would like to thank all of the amazing musicians and artists who have contributed their time and talent to this project.  It has been a truly great time “working” will all my close friends!  - Brian


Vocalists – Scott Warren, Warren Thomas, Miranda Lee Richards, Terry Dexter, Ben Ashley, Diego Val, Seth Eklund, John DiMaggio


Background Vocalists – Terry Dexter, Kenya Nelson, Seth Eklund, Jeff Story, Kevin Houlihan, Scott Warren, Mike Fratantuno, Kevin Early, Jules Larson, Rolan Bolan, Patrick Park, Dan Wistrom, Wayne Faler, John Torres


Drums – Terence Yoshiaki, Brian Young, John Wilmer


Percussion-  Davey Chegwidden, Terence Yoshiaki


Bass – Mike Fratantuno, Kyle Mullarky, Ryan Feves


Guitars -  Dan Wistrom, Dave Heman, Scott Warren, Jeff Cardoni


Piano and Keyboards – Mark Balling, Brian Lapin


Horns – Jordan Katz, David Ralicke, Matt Demerritt, Chris Tedesco


Strings – Stevie Blacke


Pedal Steal Guitar – Sean "Sheriff" Caffey


Mixed by - Bryan Cook


Mastering - Hans DeKline


Graphic Design – Jeff Caudill


Web Design  – Betsy Ullery